Project Description

Marco Hernandez

How long have you lived in Chico?

I have lived in Chico California since I was three years old.

What is your fondest childhood memory?

I would have to say that my fondest childhood memories are the Christmas family get togethers that used to take place at our house growing up. My family lived in a small ranch home on some acreage on the outskirts of Chico. It was tradition for family to come over on Christmas Eve and spend the night. The festivities always included tons of yummy food, tons of family, and a lot of laughter.

What subject(s) did you study at College?

I started College as an undeclared student. I knew I wanted to major in something business related (i.e. marketing, finance, accounting). I began taking some of the pre-requisite accounting courses, that were needed for all Business majors, my second semester at CSUC Chico and found that I really enjoyed the courses. I declared my major the following semester. I graduated from CSUC Chico with a BS in Business Administration and emphasis in Accounting, and two minors, Managing for Sustainability and Project Management.

What was your first job?

My first paying job was at the age of 14. I was hired on as a Ranch Hand at a horse ranch that was about a quarter mile from my home.

Who has been the most influential person to you in your career?

The most influential person in my career would have to be my parents. Despite not having a career of their own, they were the ones that instilled a hard work ethic in me. My father dropped out of school to begin working to help support his family after the fifth grade. My mother dropped out of school to learn how to be a seamstress after the third grade. They always made sure I understood the value of a good education. Thanks to their sacrifices, I have been able to turn my education into a career.

How has your career created value in your life?

Some (my wife)  may say that I overidentify with my career/work. Nevertheless, I love what I do and find accomplishment in creating and developing strong professional relationships. I am quite fortunate to be working for Robert Lee & Associates, a company that values and acknowledges hard work and understands the importance of work life balance.

What do you consider to be the most significant world event that has occurred during your lifetime?

The most significant world event that has occurred during my lifetime is COVID-19. The COVID-19 epidemic completely changed certain aspect of the business world.

What is your most memorable travel experience?

My most memorable travel experience would be going to Europe with my wife for our 4-year wedding anniversary. Over the course of two weeks, we ate and shopped our way through Barcelona, Rome, Florence, and Venice.

What is the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you?

I have been known to bust the seat of my pants while busting a move on the dance floor at weddings. May have happen once…or twice.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

I would have to say that my family is my biggest accomplishment. I am proud of the fact that my wife and I have been able to build our family around a strong relationship with God.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I am a foodie that enjoys spending time with family and friends.  I try to fill my spare time with good food and good company. Of course, that then creates additional work to where I have to ride my Peloton or go to the gym a few times a week.

If you could possess one super-human power, what would it be?

If I could have one superpower it would be the ability to time travel/manipulate time. I would not be opposed to have a few extra hours in my day or to have the ability to relive or revisit certain life events.

Practice Areas:

Digital Assets


BS in Accounting from California State University (CSU), Chico