Project Description

Mindy Obando

How long have you lived in the bay area?

I was born and raised in NW Iowa.  I left home for college and in December 2003, I moved to Colorado.  I lived in the Denver area for 15 years and now reside in Omaha, NE.

What is your fondest childhood memory?

Spending my summers camping, boating, and fishing at Lake Okoboji with my grandparents.

What subject(s) did you study at College?

Accounting

What was your first job?

My first job was at Taco John’s.

Who has been the most influential person to you in your career?

My parents and my husband.  They have all had a part in shaping who I am today and the career I have been able to build.

How has your career created value in your life?

I have crossed paths with many amazing people during my career and some of them have become lifelong friends.

What do you consider to be the most significant world event that has occurred during your lifetime?

The most significant event would be 9/11. I was sitting in class when the teacher brought in the TV and all we could do was sit there and watch silently.  My uncle had just started his job at the Pentagon.  It was difficult to sit, watch, and wonder if he was ok along with the thousands of others.

What is your most memorable travel experience?

My parents took me to Las Vegas for my 21st birthday.  We saw the Siegfried & Roy show.  It was amazing!  We did so many fun things on that trip and it is something I will never forget.

What is the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you?

I was 5/6 years old, and we were at the lake playing and feeding the geese.  Suddenly, a goose started to chase me and wouldn’t stop!  At the time, this wasn’t funny to me but everyone else thought it was.  I can now laugh about it as an adult, but steer clear of geese to this day. 😊

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

My kids!  We haven’t hit the teenage years yet, so pray for me. 😊  It is hard being a parent in today’s world because things are so much different than they were when we (parents) were kids.  If we can raise kids in today’s world to have a good work ethic and to be kind, caring, and have respect, then we have something to be proud of.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I spend time with my family and friends.  We enjoy attending dirt track races in the summer.  We enjoy spending time at my parents’ farm.  I am an avid hockey and football fan, so I watch a great deal of sports during the fall and winter.

If you could possess one super-human power, what would it be?

Superspeed – there is never enough time in the day to get everything done.  If I had superspeed I could get everything done each day and have some down time.  I could also visit friends and family more if I had superspeed.

Practice Areas:

Accounting (all aspects) in property management, oil and gas, entertainment, and retail.

Education:

BA in Accounting from Graceland University

MBA in Accounting and Finance from Regis University

Professional Associations:

AICPA