Project Description

Michelle Southwick, CPA

How long have you lived in Northern California?

I moved with my family to San Jose when I was five. I went to college in Los Angeles and was excited to move back to the Bay Area after graduation. I now live in Saratoga with my husband and son.

What is your fondest childhood memory?

My fondest childhood memory is climbing trees and having adventures with my sister and brother.

What subject(s) did you study at College?

I started out as a chemistry major but changed majors after not getting to do enough cool experiments. I changed to getting a BA majoring in history, because I love learning how what happened in the past influences the world today, and a minor in accounting, so I could get a job after graduating.

What was your first job?

My first job was babysitting for the kids who lived on my block.

Who has been the most influential person to you in your career?

My dad was also a CPA, so I guess accounting runs in the family.

How has your career created value in your life?

I enjoy both helping people and solving problems. Being in public accounting lets me do both these things.

What do you consider to be the most significant world event that has occurred during your lifetime?

I remember watching the fall of the Berlin wall on the news when I was a kid. I didn’t really understand the historical significance at the time.

What is your most memorable travel experience?

My most memorable travel experience is traveling around India for two weeks. My sister spent a year there doing research for her anthropology dissertation. We got to see the tiny village she was staying in and meet some of the people she worked with. We also were able to see some amazing historical sites like the Taj Mahal.

What is the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you?

One of the funniest things that happened to me was I fell in a koi pond at a Japanese tea garden. I was walking backward on a bridge with no handrail and walked right off the side.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

One of my proudest accomplishments is relearning to walk again. It took a lot of time and energy and I didn’t give up.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I have a seven year old son who always wants to play with me. I also spend lots of time going to the gym and doing pool therapy. To relax, I like to garden, bake and do jigsaw puzzles.

If you could possess one super-human power, what would it be?

If I could have one superpower, I’d love to have the ability to heal injuries with my touch.

Practice Areas:

Taxation of corporations, partnerships and non-profits

Education:

BA in History with Minor in Accounting from UCLA

Masters of Science in Taxation from SJSU

Professional Associations:

AICPA, CalCPA