Project Description

Erik Honkakangas

How long have you lived in the bay area?

I moved to San Jose when I was about 5 years old and left the bay in 2013 to study at CSU Chico.

What is your fondest childhood memory?

My fondest childhood memory is playing street hockey with all the neighborhood kids. It seemed like we played every day, rain or shine.

What subject(s) did you study at College?

I started as a Computer Science major because that’s what my dad did. When I realized that wasn’t for me, I switched over to Exercise Physiology because I sort of had a passion for Physical Therapy. It wasn’t until I was minoring in business that I decided to make the jump over to Accounting, which is what I finished with.

What was your first job?

My first job was working as a lifeguard at the local swim club.

Who has been the most influential person to you in your career?

I’d have to say my parents have probably been the most influential to me. If it weren’t for them I probably never would have pursued a college degree.

How has your career created value in your life?

My career has helped me meet some amazing people and lifelong friends.

What do you consider to be the most significant world event that has occurred during your lifetime?

The most significant event that occurred during my lifetime was the Carr Fire. My girlfriend and I had just moved to Redding a few days prior to the fire and were still unfamiliar with the area. We were constantly Googling the streets being evacuated to see how close the fire was to our house.

What is your most memorable travel experience?

Any of the Hawaii trips that I had with my parents growing up were most memorable to me. I remember boogie boarding and absolutely destroying my legs on coral, but none of that mattered at the time. It was just an amazing experience. I have to go back soon.

What is the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you?

The funniest thing that ever happened to me was when my sister entered me into a contest for a nice watch by using my e-mail address. I ended up winning the contest and she caught me wearing the watch and it kind of spiraled from there.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

Graduating college and getting my degree in Accounting.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

My spare time is spent playing video games, trying to fix my car and breaking it some more, and most recently skateboarding.

If you could possess one super-human power, what would it be?

Teleportation would be awesome. Something about never having to deal with traffic again just seems amazing.

Practice Areas:

Taxation

Education:

BS in Accounting from CSU Chico